Racine County Comprehensive Planning

In 1999, Governor Thompson signed into law what is referred to as the “Smart Growth” legislation (Section 66.1001 of the Wisconsin Statutes). All local governments (cities, towns, and villages) and the County are required to adopt a comprehensive plan by January 1, 2010 in order to enforce zoning, subdivision and official mapping ordinances. These ordinances must be consistent with the adopted comprehensive plan by January 1, 2010.

Between 2006 and 2009, Racine County, all seventeen local communities* worked cooperatively with the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC), County Planning and Development, and UW-Extension to create a multi-jurisdictional comprehensive plan. This plan was adopted by each local government unit (with the exception of the City of Racine, which endorsed the multi-jurisdictional plan and will adopt its own comprehensive plan) during the summer of 2009. The Racine County Board of Supervisors adopted the plan on October 13, 2009.

*The Town and Village of Rochester were consolidated as the Village of Rochester in December 2008.

More Information:

Questions or Comments:

Please direct any questions or comments regarding the Racine County Multi-Jurisdictional Comprehensive Plan to:

Racine County Department of Planning & Development
14200 Washington Avenue, Sturtevant, WI 53177-1295
Phone: 262-886-8470 | Fax: 262-886-8488
E-mail: RCPlanningDevelopment@goracine.org